top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOllie T

READ: My email to Young Labour Groups

Updated: Aug 1, 2020

My name is Oliver Tucker and I am running for the position of Youth Rep. to the NEC this year. As a Young Labour group I am sure you will be shortly thinking about endorsing a candidate. I’m emailing you now to explain why I’m the right candidate to endorse. Please do see the links in the email to learn more about me.



To be a youth member of Labour at the moment is like being stuck between a rock and a hard place - you’re both not seen as critical to the party’s success, yet we will be the ones who ultimately inherit the party in generations to come. That’s why I am standing to be your representative at the highest level of Labour - I want to make sure that the youth are put first again. As members of Young Labour, I know you are a discerning group, which is why it’s a big ask to put your trust into me, someone you’ve never met. That’s why I have come up with a set of five key promises to you, the youth.


1.  Increased youth membership. 2. Retention of accessible meetings past the period of the pandemic, such as Zoom CLP meetings. 3. Reinvigoration of Young Labour, including tackling bullying, harassment and factionalism. 4. Membership training programs, focussing on transferrable skills, especially for younger members. 5. An emphasis on social justice in my actions and policy.



It’s really important I hear from you as well - the campaign is going to be ongoing until mid-October, so there’s plenty of time to adapt, form and change policy. Please do get in touch via email or Twitter and I would be more than happy to speak to your officers or group as a whole through Zoom or similar.


Please do let me know the details of how, or if, you will be endorsing candidates, and if there is anything more I can do for you, I will be happy to oblige. Of course, if one of your members is especially interested in my campaign, or political campaigns in general, and want to lend a hand, please do pass on my contact details.


If you are a member of a Young Labour group and I have not got in touch with you, please let me know via my email (otlabour@outlook.com) or Twitter (olivertucker01)

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page